100 Days- Goes Fast!

I started my #the100dayproject on January 21st.  The last day for me was May 1st.  100 days went by very, very fast.  I am really surprised by the speed of this particular project.   My previous 100 day project from last year seemed to drag on for me.  Maybe it was because I didn’t know what to expect, maybe it was because part was done in California and the other part took place in Massachusetts (Cape Cod).  I don’t know…..What I do know is that the subject matter I chose was a hell of a lot of fun!

There are many subjects I am interested in.  There are few that I visit each day.  One that I very much enjoy visiting each day is real estate, Old real estate in particular.  I enjoy the hunt, history and design and if that old home happens to have an old ghost as a resident than all the better!  I DO love a good ghost story.  (My Aunt Candy always told the best Ghost Stories to my sister and I when we would visit her in Johnstown, Pennsylvania.  This was over 40 years ago.)

So I found that combining my love of old real estate and drawing would be the perfect package for me.  I decided I wanted to render older homes (100+years old) and  I found that visiting Circa Old Houses and Realtor dot Com daily, was a great way to find my subject matter, but sometimes a friend or a relative would bring a particular property to my attention.

This home below was found on Realtor.com.  It is/was for sale in Milton, Massachusetts.

1837 milton, mass

Now for my rendition of this lovely home below.

fullsizeoutput_3023

How would I describe my artwork?…. I am not sure.  I do use my “creative license” to interpret the house how I see it and how I can illustrate it the best.  It isn’t perfect, and it isn’t meant to be.  If you compare the photo to my drawing you can see that there may not be exact window placement or size…. as well as other differences.  For me though, it is/was a success, AND as I said before… A Hell of A lot of FUN!

Below a photo of Beaumont Tower from Michigan State University.

beaumont Tower erected in 1928

AND my Original artwork of Beaumont Tower.

Screen Shot 2018-05-19 at 1.14.26 PM

Next a lovely old home for sale in Norwalk, Connecticut and below this photo you will see my original artwork of this home.

19840 norwalk connScreen Shot 2018-05-19 at 1.35.04 PM.png

This was one of my favorite homes I rendered.

I was very surprised when I was contacted to do commissions by folks that were following my 100 day project on instagram.  I did quite of few commissions and I will welcome more.  What a kick.  Maybe I should set up that Etsy shop?

1900 columbus Ohio

This beautiful brick home is in Columbus, Ohio.

Screen Shot 2018-05-19 at 2.21.50 PM.png

Thanks for reading! See you next time!

Leave a comment