Baby Quilt for a Dapper Chap!

SO! This is a terribly overdue post.  Casey is older now and doing much more than crawling… Read on and you will see

I do love a quilt made of triangles. My love for The Triangle started when Jennifer Mathis from Ellison Lane and Sew South shared her gorgeous “kitchen sink” quilt at a  Sew South retreat. All colors from the rainbow were included and every single kind of design of fabric married together to create a beautiful harmony of textures and hues. In a word …

AHHHHHH-MAZING!

I do think the equilateral triangle is my most favorite! IMG_1062

So above is Jennifer with her lovely quilt. This is 1 of 2.  She made another one later.  Isn’t she cute and so is her quilt! Seriously though…. Jennifer is one of the most beautiful persons I know, both inside and out.  She is so positive, giving, inspirational, creative, supportive -oh gee, I could go on and on…..if you ever get the chance to meet her you will truly be blessed.  Go to Sew South if you are able, and you will know exactly what I mean.

Originally I set out to create a knitted blanket for Meghan and Shawn, our friends (that are in our opinion, family) from the Boston Area.  I chose colors I thought would work with either a baby girl or a baby boy.  Gray, yellow and white.  I knitted along with Maggie Pace in a creativebug course called: How to knit a baby blanket.  I was determined to knit this blanket for Meghan and Shawn and I wasn’t going to give up.

Disclaimer here…. This is the first real thing I have knitted.  In the past I have done a simple scarf, but it came unraveled after a couple times of wearing (Sorry mom).  So to me that wasn’t real knitting.  IMG_0568

Have I ever told all of you out there that I have a “gift”?  I think many of us have this gift, we just aren’t aware of it or we ignore it.  Let’s just call it “women’s intuition”.  We will just call it that for now.

ANYWAY… the colors I chose here, were actually the colors that M and S chose for their baby’s room.  Wow, right?  I think so too.  I also correctly predicted the sex of the baby.  YES…..A BOY!  I had a 50/50 chance.  See I wasn’t kidding about these gifts that I have….

Back to the blanket.  I took this little scrap of yarn everywhere I went.  On a plane, on a train, in the car- while eating lard….no, no, no- I didn’t eat lard, but I had to go there because it rhymed.  You get the idea though, no?IMG_0569

I must have ripped it out and stitched it back together again 20 times (maybe more, cuz I lost count, because all the swearing associated with the counting).  I wanted each stitch to be perfect… I finally finished.  Sadly I do not have a finished photo. I was SO over it by the time I finished it. When this project was finally completed it was almost in the shape of a my beloved triangle! In all reality though it resembled a trapezoid.  Given my very green knitting  skills, my stitches started out super tight and then loosened to a more reasonable confident size, thus creating a trapezoid.

During the knitting and unknitting of the gray, yellow and white blanket fiasco I started to work on a baby quilt for them.  I knew that making a quilt wasn’t going to be an experiment (like I knitting was for me).  I knew exactly how to tackle this.

Screen Shot 2017-09-07 at 9.33.43 PM

You can’t go wrong with a triangle.  They are cute, compact and pointy.  I have a TON of gray, yellow and white scraps, so I dug through my boxes to find some awesome prints.

 By this time Casey Patrick (see above) was born and we found out he was a boy, I knew to go a little more masculine and rough and tumble on the prints. This quilt would feature some dog and bike prints. I purchased a special fabric that had a french bulldog on it, because of their little family member, Barlow.  The french bulldog.

Isn’t he cute?  The dog folks, the dog.  I’m a married lady!

Below the backside of Casey’s quilt

IMG_1411

So the above photo is of the finished quilt. AND…..

Photos of Casey using his quilt.  It warms my  heart to see this cute little guy using this quilt.   How cute is he?  I think he is going to be a ginger, like his dad!

ADORABLE! Meghan and Shawn do some great work.  They make beautiful things too!

And there you have it.  Another quilt that went to a great home!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a comment