Just When you Need It!

Sometimes something happens right when you REALLY need it!  I often talk about how being in the business of surface design is like a rollercoaster ride.  Many times this rollercoaster ride seems to have more nosedives than blastoffs!  Those nosedives?  They are usually provoked by that “evil little inner voice” that likes to compare my work to others and tell me “you’ll never amount to anything”.  Most days I can push this “voice” aside, not listen and not buy into it, but some days it gets hold of me and pulls me down that rabbit hole.  Ugh, if any of you have this issue, you know the place I am talking about. It’s a dark, ugly space where creative juices dry up and optimism is unheard of.  You know that song by Sam Phillips, “Where the Colors Don’t Go”? well, her lyrics explain it all.  Nothing grows there, especially color!

going-down-01

So getting on with my story, and it’s a very good one!  Two weeks ago I did a little four question “e-mail interview” with a lovely woman named Rose that works with the “On The Surface” (SURTEX) E- Newsletter. You probably remember I exhibited at SURTEX 2016, last May.  This e-mail popped into my inbox (which usually I tend to delete even before reading because I think it may be junk from an on-line marketer trying to sell their services), but this time I opened and read it. Thank goodness I did.  This was JUST WHAT I NEEDED, JUST WHEN I NEEDED IT!

This e-mail was from a lovely person by the name of Rose Gilbert.  She had questions as to what I did last summer, how my summer inspired my creativity and about life after SURTEX.  At the time, I answered the questions attached some artwork, as they requested and sent it immediately back, thinking “this may end up being nothing, but who knows” and I totally forgot about it!!!!

A few days ago, to my surprise, and in a slump, a newsletter popped into my inbox from “On The Surface”, the e-newsletter from SURTEX.   I scanned through it, completely forgetting about the interview I did and all of a sudden I saw my face!  OMG!  I didn’t even read it, I handed my phone over to my husband and he started to read it to me!  To say that I was shocked, was an understatement.  I really did forget about it.  Rose made me sound so much more like an artist (and a grown-up) than I view myself to be!  Below you can read part of the SURTEX e-newsletter!

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-3-30-37-pm

When you head over to the SURTEX website, there doesn’t seem to be a place to access this particular newsletter.  You will find older newsletters there, but not this one for some reason.  I am not sure why, but I am sure many, many attendees and exhibitors received this e-newsletter edition in their mailbox, just as I did.

So I guess you can say I am on the upswing of the rollercoaster ride.  I know it won’t last forever, but I am going to enjoy this feeling for a little while before it’s time to experience the next dip.

Have a great week everyone!

Create Something!

 

6 thoughts on “Just When you Need It!

    • Hi Susan, awww youre so sweet, thanks. I am having fun with it! Hope you are well, I have been following all the very amazing things you have been making instagram!

  1. Oh Tracey, what wonderful affirmation of your creativity, artistry, & humor! I’m so very proud of you my dear friend! Your story reminds us all that good things come from unexpected people and places. Hugs!

  2. Tracey: Beautiful soul.. Always remember that you have always enjoyed art. It’s various forms and expressions have built a deep wonderful spiral of love and emotion that reflects its talent in everything that you touch. Your deep mires controls the dark shadows and your smiling eyes create the light tones of your world. You are wonderful, you are beautiful, no matter what the depression tries to say….you will always be a bit of sunshine to me.

    • Aunt Candy, I love you. You bring tears to my eyes. The memories I have of all those times we spent together when I was just a kid. You always had the best scary stories to tell, and always had something fun for us to do! Thank you so much for your very kind comments, and all the wonderful doll clothes you made for our dolls when I was little. You have played such a huge roll in who I am today. xxoooo

Leave a Reply

