My Real Journey For 2015

My intention for todays post is to give you a peek into some of my designs.  These are my earlier ones.  I have since then taken advice given to me by both Heather Ross and Anne Sullivan on tweaking these so that I use more of my drawing skills.

I certainly don’t think that any of you would ever copy my designs, (I don’t even want to assume that they are copy worthy) but I still have to ask you-

Please do not replicate or copy any of my original designs…

Thank you-

Now that I got that out of the way, let me show you what I have here.  🙂

pods-03-02-04-01

I did these designs before doing the Creativelive online class “Design Surface Patterns From Scratch” with Bonnie Christine.  One thing that Bonnie teaches is to create a collection from a story.

modpodsrings butterscotch-06-01 copy-03

There isn’t a story here.  I was just messing around with color and designs I felt went together to create a collection.

modpodsrings butterscotch-03 copy-03

Are these cohesive?  At the time I felt as though these designs did work together.  Do they bring the best out in each other?  I am not sure.  That’s why this is a process.

modpodsrings butterscotch-07-03

Now, after taking some time away from these designs, and also learning some new techniques, from both Bonnie Christine and Rachael Taylor (The Art and Business of Surface and Pattern Design) I can totally see areas for improvements.

modpods spirals-03

I did hop on over to Spoonflower and print these designs so I could construct something out of them.

Modpod spoonflower shot-01

I wanted to see if my designs would play well together.  I could see some issues, but I was relatively happy for my very first try.

I created a mini-quilt using the economy patch block.  The quilt measures 36″ x 36″ in size.  Not enough for any normal sized human to cuddle under, but big enough for a pug!

modpods quilt-01

I highly recommend this, because it really does give you an idea of what your collection will look like in real life.  I used Kona Snow White to break-up the color.

modpods quilt-02

Thanks for taking a look at what I have been up to.  It is really hard for me to put myself out there.  I am determined to make my dream a reality.  What is it that you are dreaming about that you would like to be a reality?  Need a little push?

Ya feel that?  That’s me pushing you!!

5 thoughts on “My Real Journey For 2015

  1. I can’t wait to see where you go wit your designs, Tracey. 😀 I have loved that CreativeLive class, thank you so much for recommending it!! Now I just need to practice it a LOT MORE.

  2. Nice job! The last one is my favorite. I could picture myself using that fabric along with others in my stash. Although I do tend to design around a story myself (I have been known to play around with fabric design occasionally) when it comes to using fabric, I like to mix up fabrics, aka stories, from different designers and collections.

Leave a Reply

