First Finish of The New Year

My first finish of the new year! Yay!   To top it off it is also a UFO (unfinished object).  This UFO has been hanging around my sewing room since May of 2013!!! Wow, I didn’t realize that it had been THAT LONG! I did a Natalie Chanin Workshop, where I purchased a swing skirt kit.  I can now say I am the owner of a pretty unique skirt-a completed skirt, that can actually be worn.  No longer is that UFO taking up space in my sewing room, staring at me from its plastic bag- mocking me, making me feel as though I haven’t any follow-through.  POW!  I  suddenly feel like a super hero.  I am the “FINISHER”… YEAH, YEAH….That’s it!  THE FINISHER!

photo 1-70

I do finish projects.   Most of the projects that I finish are those that are for other people.  What does that say about me?  Do I not value myself enough?  I wonder how many of us out there do the exact same thing?  Are most of the UFO’s you have in your sewing room projects that are to be finished for yourself?  Or are these projects for others?

photo 2-72

Something for me to ponder anyway.  Maybe you should ponder this as well?

photo 3-68

So as you look through these pictures of my new skirt with its  many stitches and threads, maybe you too can think about what you could finish for yourself.

photo 4-56

This is the year I intend to start tackle some of these personal projects.

I think this is a pretty good start.

photo 5-23

Take care of yourselves.

Take some time for yourselves..

And

Think about what you could do if you weren’t afraid of failing!  I am.  I am diving in head first and I may fail, but I will never know what could be if I don’t!

8 thoughts on “First Finish of The New Year

  1. Beautiful skirt and wonderful thoughful words.
    I’m rather selfish, I like to sew to ‘get ideas out of my head’ so I tend to sew for me as there is no expectation or pressure if it doesn’t work out.
    I’ve just got a Chanin book. Love it.

Leave a Reply

