The Ellen Show… Am I Dreaming?

Wow!  I am not even sure where to start.  Really.  From the moment I landed in Burbank- I have felt like I was dreaming.  But there we were, my cousin Carol and I sitting in our Ellen VIP seats, on Thursday afternoon, watching the whole thing unfold.  The same protocol was followed, just as we have seen many times before from our livingroom sofas.  The Ellen Show music starts, The camera shows Ellen behind stage tossing her mint into the air and if she is having a good day, she catches it, right in the kisser (let’s face it, it’s a good day whether she catches it or not).  A good day it was, she caught it!

photo 5-01

Let’s back up just a little shall we?  I have been asked repeatedly, “How did you get VIP tickets to The Ellen Show?”   Carol and I were 2 VIP’s among about 30 people maybe more?…. VIP for The Ellen Show means, prime seating and no waiting in the cattle call area.   These very special tickets were acquired by doing a couple of things.

photo 1-01

I made this quilt for Ellen, it took about 6 months to finish.

photo 4-01

AND

Because of The Ellen Quilt, my blog post made it to a friend, that sent it to another friend, that happened to be related to someone who worked for Warner Brothers, in a pretty high up position.

NOW I AM JUST GOING TO BARRAGE YOU WITH A BUNCH OF PICTURES I TOOK BEFORE WE WERE TOLD TO PUT OUR PHONES AWAY……

photo 2

At first I was a little bummed out, because I felt like I could have acquired these tickets if I would have just talked to the right people.  After further reflection though, I realized that it was because of THE ELLEN QUILT that I got tickets to the show.  I really do believe this.  If I wouldn’t have created this quilt, the talk would not have started among all these people, and my blog post would not have been forwarded to the right person.

photo 3-01

Now, let’s go forward- okay?  Attending the Ellen Show really was a dream come true.  I didn’t expect it to be such a workout.  Standing, sitting, clapping, yelling and dancing, lots of dancing.  It was a whirlwind of excitement.  We were prompted when to dance, when to stand and Ellen told us when to sit.  (In a nice way of course!)

Carol and I were placed right in the 2nd row, where Ellen dances across during each show. It is a wider row which allows her to really cut some rug as she passes by.   I detected a slight hint of CK One when she grooved passed us.   She is so darn cute and tiny as can be.  Tiny in stature, but not in personality as you all know.  She is lightning quick with her humor, you can see for yourselves by watching her opening Good News performance.

photo 5

Kim Kardashian and Dermot Mulroney were her guests.  They were both entertaining in their own ways.  Ellen was the show though, she was who we all came to see- these tickets are hard to come by and this was confirmed by many of the locals that Carol so giddily told.  Everywhere we went, when asked why we were visiting the Los Angeles area, Carol would quickly answer, “We’re going to the Ellen Show!” The responses were filled with excitement and envy.  Could you blame them?

We left Ellen, with swollen, numb hands and hoarse voices AND completely drained of all energy.  Everybody did.  It was a workout.  This was my Super Bowl- and it was over…like the “day after Christmas” is how Carol described it, and that is exactly what it felt like.

All the planning, cutting and designing of this quilt- brought me to that very moment, that small slice of time that I was present for The Ellen Show.  Now it’s over, all over.

As aways, upon returning home it has taken me a couple days to get my bearings.  This time, it was even harder.  The shear, mental and physical exhaustion from the Ellen Event.

Well worth it, you should all do it.  If Ellen isn’t your thing, then have another goal in mind, and shoot for those stars.  You might just surprise yourself with what you can accomplish, when you get folks talking and pulling for you!

carol and I on Ellen

That’s all for now!

Stay well-

and as Ellen always says…

“Be kind to one another!”

18 thoughts on “The Ellen Show… Am I Dreaming?

    • Hi Mary! No- Ellen didn’t talk to me about the quilt…..I wish she would have- but I know I am just a little person in a huge sea of many many people- I think I really could have had her call on me- I think she would have, but I was worried I would studder on television- ugh I do that when I am nervous… Thanks for reading my blog- as always it’s great to hear from you- I hope you are doing well! 🙂

  1. GREAT PICTURES Tracey, and GREAT STORY, so very happy for you especially after all of your work on that BEAUTIFUL QUILT. Truly loved watching the Ellen Show seeing you in the audience.

    • Thanks Mrs. B! Kind of wish you couldn’t see us- or me anyway…. I looked pretty enormous in my stripes! But at least you know I was there- right?! Thanks for watching and for all the encouragement along the way.. 🙂 hugs and kisses

  2. My friend and I are coming from Canada and we are trying to plan our trip around getting to come to the show!!! We have gone online and requested them for the week we want to go but haven’t heard anything back. Can VIP tickets be purchased?

    • Gosh Aylisa- I don’t think you can purchase them- I don’t really know much about it. You can get there early and get into a special line (like a bystander line) and if they have space left over from the people that haven’t shown up with their tickets then they start pulling people from that line. It’s worth a shot if it’s something you have always wanted to do! Good luck!

  3. That is so awesome. Thanks for sharing. I am at the show right now, was wondering what do you do to get a VIP ticket.
    Take care, be kind to one another.😄

  4. We would really appreciate it if you can have us on your show I feel you are a remarkable person who loves people I’m the same way

    • Hi Rickee, I think you may be misunderstanding my post. I went to see Ellen, I wish I could get you on her show, but I am just a normal person that doesn’t have that power…. sorry! best of luck!

Leave a Reply

