The Ellen DeGeneres Quilt……

It’s time to shake things up.  I have been keeping a secret from you.  Well, some of you know, but not many.  🙂  I have made a quilt for Ellen DeGeneres!  No, she didn’t ask me to.  I just went ahead and did it without any prompting from anybody.  I know, crazy right?  I have been known to be a little cray, cray.  Let me tell you how this all came about.

Unknown

It all started while I was watching the Ellen Show one afternoon in May of 2013.  I had spent  the earlier part of my day with my good friend Patty, walking and talking.  Patty had been through some rough things, grieving for her dad just to mention one thing, and I just wanted to make her smile and laugh.  Well, the Ellen Show, I thought would be a perfect way to get Patty to smile and laugh,… “she should be watching this” I thought to myself….. and then I thought, NO, it would be even better if we could be there in person!  Right?!  I texted Patty and told her that I was going to get tickets to the show…. Maybe 3 or 4 tickets, so I could also include my cousin Carol and one other also. This would be a great outing for us, Patty and Carol thought so too!  That was before I actually tried though!  😦

ellenletter7

A teaser peek!

If you have ever been on the Ellentv website to get tickets, everything is “fully booked”!  I kept checking back, but it was always the same result.  So I did some investigating on the internet to see what I could do…… One posting from someone stated that “if you send something to Ellen, you might get her attention”.  What could I send that would get Ellen’s attention?  I AM GONNA SEW A QUILT!  Not just any quilt, I am going to make the Tacha Bruecher American Flag Quilt from the book Hexa-Go-Go.

Why the American Flag Quilt?  For many reasons, first of all I like it, secondly, because I can sew it on the go while traveling and thirdly, because in my opinion Ellen is the ultimate American.  She believes in marriage equality, she ends each show with saying, “Be kind to one another”, she supports tons of charities, gives back to so many, she makes me laugh and she dances!  She dances a lot!!! What’s not to like?!

elenletter1

My Ellen Quilt Project started in late May.  It’s no surprise that this quilt is made up of hundreds of hexagons.  I never counted them, I should have.  As you can see, just this blue portion of the flag has many, many hexies in it.  This was the first portion I worked on.  I would paperpiece these hexies, while watching tv with the kids and during long car trips.  Pretty much any moment I was sitting, I was piecing.

quiltprogress2

It all started taking shape after the blue portion was completed.  I could actually see, that yes indeed, this was going to be a flag!

ellenletter4

When I started to assemble and piece the stripes of the flags, I realized that this flag didn’t seem personal enough for Ellen.  It needed something more!  I had my Aha moment.  I am going to design Ellen DeGeneres fabric and have it printed through Spoonflower!!! This would be my first design/printing experience with Spoonflower and I was pretty anxious about it.  I worked on the design for days.  I realized that not all fonts would translate to the Spoonflower design process.  The Spoonflower website changes some fonts to different fonts.  I was unable to find any information out there regarding acceptable fonts, but I am sure there is something that refers to fonts?  I don’t know, maybe somebody out there knows?  Anyway, designing this Ellen Fabric was finally a way for me to dip my toes into the fabric and surface design.  It forced me to use my tablet and illustrator and made me become more familiar with uploading items to Spoonflower.  Ellen was helping me even though she didn’t know it.

ellenletter2

This fabric is mostly a text design, and isn’t anything too impressive, but it made for great hexagons that the “white” stripes are composed of.  I took bits and pieces from her EllenTV website and cut and pasted Ellen’s biography, names of recurring guest stars and special charities that she supports (just to name a few things)!  This fat quarter piece of fabric arrived from Spoonflower while Carol and I were in Sedona, Arizona vacationing! Mr. Swellsewing texted me a photo of it and I was so excited!  I was also, paper piecing blue hexies during that vacation.

So this process continued, Through many vacations.  Sedona with Carol, Asilomar with Patty and a Michigan trip to visit my folks with the husband and kids.

ellenletter5

This picture was taken while in Cape Cod, later in the process of The Ellen Quilt.  I have shown this quilt to probably 25 people in total, letting them know that I am making this for Ellen.  Peoples’ response was always why?  Why would you do this?  I would tell them, “because I really, really like her, I think she is an amazing American (if only everyone would be kind to one another), she does so much for others AND I want to get her attention, so I can maybe get tickets to her show!? Mostly though, It’s time for Ellen to get a gift!  Like I said earlier in this post, she does so much for others, gives so much to so many people that she should be given something that shows how much normal folks like me, really appreciate her.  I do!!! I do appreciate her!

quilt6

quilt7

Thanks to all my Instagram friends for commenting and liking so nicely!

I have Instagramed pictures of this quilt, but didn’t divulge who the recipient was to be.  I guess I was worried that maybe someone would steal my idea and get their quilt done quicker, or maybe because there was a huge possibility that I wouldn’t finish at all?

This is the only photo of me and Ellen’s Quilt!  It’s a selfie, and it’s not very good, but here it is.

photo.PNG

Wait….. there is one other, that Mr. Swellsewing took of me.  I was working on Ellen’s quilt while watching the Ellen Show!! I didn’t know he took this picture until later!  🙂

photo

So… hexie, by hexie, stitch by stitch, seam by seam…. this quilt came together.  I sewed this baby wherever I went.  West Coast to East Coast and back again.

photo 4-01

Both Ruby (in the earlier pug photo) and Peek-A-Boo (in the photo below) had their turns at a SIT or a STAND on Ellen’s quilt.  What can I say, it’s animal friendly.

quiltandpeekers

This went on for a few months……when finally I had another idea!   A REALLY GOOD ONE!!  I am going to add 11 stars, and Ellen’s name to the blue portion of the flag.  The 11 stars will represent Ellen’s 11 seasons of the Ellen Show!  I also embroidered around them.

flag3

I tried to use an Alabama Chanin approach to the paint stenciling and embroidery, knotting the stitching on the outside of the quilt.

flag4

The longer I held onto this quilt, the more I wanted to add to it. That’s how I ended up embroidering “THE ELLEN SHOW” around the quilt over and over again!  I was worried that if I held onto this quilt any longer, I would have to add another star for her 12th season, or WORSE yet, keep it for myself!

Once I was done adding some bells and whistles, it was time for the big reveal…..

flag5 Ta Da…… here is the finished quilt!

ellenfinishedquilt

my over 6′ tall husband is holding this quilt while balancing on a 3 foot tall wall, to give you an idea of how big it is.

photo 5

The outer portion border of this quilt was free-motion quilted and the stripes and blue portion were line quilted.

Here are some photos of the back of the quilt.  I kept it pretty and unELLENesque for Portia.

quilty3

quilty5

My self-made SWELLSEWING tag.

photo 4-01

Here are some images of it folded.  It was hard to let this quilt go.

photo 4-01

photo 3

photo 1

I just love the way it looks folded!

photo 1

I had to let it go though.  I put Ellen’s quilt in a box wrapped in a huge swatch of the “specially made Ellen Fabric”, some pictures of my friends and a nice letter to Ellen.  It was all tied together with a big piece of red ric rac.  Do you think Ellen likes ric rac?

photo 1

photo 2-01

This was my last view of the Ellen Quilt…. I sure hope it made it to its intended destination and into Ellen’s arms….

photo 2-01

Since I sent this box, on October 21st I have been on needles and pins, (pardon me for the unintended pun)!   Mr. Swellsewing and I have tracked the package and it did make it to Burbank.  It went certified mail, returned receipt but the receipt was never returned to us.   The postman said, that sometimes that happens, the slip gets lost.  UGH.  ( Hopefully just the slip gets lost and not the package)!  So you can imagine how anxious we are!…

I will keep you all posted on the outcome.  In the meantime, to quote Ellen,

“Be kind to one another” and have a Swell Weekend!  Thanks for reading!

37 thoughts on “The Ellen DeGeneres Quilt……

  1. I was also sorry to see that quilt go honey! You really poured your heart and soul into that one! It sure was fun watching it come together over the past 5 months or so. When are you gonna make me a quilt??? Xoxo

    • Awwwe thanks! Ellen is well deserving of a nice gift.. I am a crazy one for doing this, but it was so fun to work on it and learn along the way! thanks again 🙂

    • Hi there Ann, long time no see! It’s great to hear from you- I will keep you informed of any outcome, fingers crossed. xxoo Thanks for your lovely comments

    • Thank you so very much! We’ll see if she if blown away…. Haven’t heard anything yet. I think the best thing for me to do now is just try to forget about the quilt,,, then maybe Ellen will surprise me… thinking about it all the time is KILLING me!! Thanks for your comments and stopping by..xxoo

  2. I was having a grumpy day until I read this post! You are crazy in the most wonderful way, and I mean that with utmost admiration and affection. I am smiling ear to ear and I know Ellen will LOVE this quilt! There are so many things I love about this, it would take a blog post of my own. Please keep us posted! Heading over to instagram to find you on there so I can see what else you’ve got up your sleeve!

    • Hi Lynn! I am so sorry that you aren’t having the best day! I hate it when that happens. I am so glad that reading this post birghtened things up for you a bit… I will have to find you on instagram as well! Thanks for your lovely and kind words- it means sooooo much- I will keep you guys posted-xoxox

  3. This is beautiful! You are so patient and creative, what a great idea! I hope that you do get ellen’s attention and that you and patti get to go to the show. Keep us posted!

  4. Tracey, what a great quilt, I think it was a perfectly great idea. I’m sure she will love it. It must be so hard waiting. Can’t wait to maybe see you on the Ellen show with her, you can do a crafty moment with her. It will be exciting to hear all about it when you hear from her.

  5. Wow, this is amazing!! I love Ellen, too (although maybe not enough to spend this long on a quilt for her – that’s some serious unselfish sewing!). I can’t wait to see what happens!

  6. this quilt has so much love in it. As a person who has been to Ellen’s show twice (I am ahuge fan, too) I know she will love it and I bet she will even call you on stage. Good luck

    • Hi Diane! I don’t know if I will get called on stage or even get tickets…. But that’s okay because she is so deserving….. she does great things for so many people that need that help! You are soooo lucky to have gone a couple of times.. I bet it was so fun! Thanks for commenting! xoxo

  7. Pingback: Good-Bye 13, Hello 14! | Swell Sewing

Leave a Reply

