A little Selfish Sewing….. #sewselfish

The sewing summit fun continues, with a linky party thrown by Miss Laren Dahl.  Another Sewing Summit attendee, she has decided to throw this “party” which allows many of us to do some sewing for ourselves.

Here is the link to the party;

sew-selfish-200x200

If you are like, me, you find yourself many times sewing for others.

 Don’t get me wrong, I love sewing for others, especially when I can surprise them with an unexpected gift.  Now that I am sewing more quilts, than garments, I’ll sew a quilt and then give it away.    Although, I do have to say that directly before the summit, I did do some selfish sewing.  Ummmmm…..let’s be honest, I did a lot of selfish sewing. I had to, to get my wardrobe ready for the big event!!!

 The moment that Lauren announced the linky party I seized the moment to finally craft this bag.  I purchased this pattern from Pine Needles in Utah during a shopping outing with my fabulous roomies.

yhst-79735239299518_2272_135338786-1

This is the Anna Maria Horner Multi-Tasker Tote.  During the sewing summit I spied, the very cute Amy Gibson from Sitchery Dickery Dock with her multi-tasker tote ( I actually had the pattern in my bag that I just purchased).  I was teasing Amy because her tote looked exactly like the tote on the front of the pattern package…. asking her if she sewed the ACTUAL bag that was used in the photo shoot.   She didn’t, but her bag was sewn so professionally that it sure could have been the BAG!!!! She is an amazing sewist, of all things for sure.

So here is my version of the tote.

multitasker1These fabrics were purchased from Joann Fabrics.

multitasker2

multitasker3

It boasts 4 large outside pockets, and one inside pocket, to hold your phone, and whatever you may need handy.

multitasker6

I still need to slipstich a small inside portion of the bag, so I am going to keep that part under wraps.

I have to say that I really do like the completed product.  There were a few funny things with the pattern, that for the life of me I just could not understand- but it worked out in the end.

I will indeed make this tote again, perhaps in some more monotoned colors.  It’s plenty big enough for another huge fabric shopping excursion! The zebra print is quite fun though!!

Have a great week!

6 thoughts on “A little Selfish Sewing….. #sewselfish

Leave a Reply

