An Integral Part-The Staple Dress

To be a staple is to be an integral part of something.

A couple of weeks ago I finished up my Staple Dress. Soon after I wore it.  I love it!

This could be my entire blog post, but wait…. there’s more.  Isn’t there always?  April Rhodes is a genius.  She has created a pattern (the staple dress) that gives all of us a chance to upgrade our wardrobes by becoming an integral part of our wardrobes.  I don’t think she is aware of how important and significant her pattern is.

stapledress2

It is super comfy, yet stylish it’s the modern woman’s house coat?  Is that a bad thing to say?  I mean it in the most complimentary way.

stapledress

One thing I tend to do when I am interested in sewing a garment, is that I stress over the fabric I choose.  Not so much the type of fabric, but the color and pattern of the fabric.  I want to be sure that it is something I will wear again and again…   I like the pink fabric I chose for the Staple Dress, but I don’t think it is going to be worn a ton in the fall and winter.  So my plan is to make a few of these in Black, Navy and maybe a plaid.  I think it would be great in a black and white polka dot, don’t you?

April has made this pattern easy to modify and wear.  There aren’t any bust darts or form-fitting seams to worry about- it’s customizable.  I modified mine a little bit.

Here’s what I did:

stapledress6

I created a chamber for an elastic insert around the entire midriff of the dress.

In the front of the dress, I inserted 1 1/4″ elastic creating 6 inches of gathering.

stapledress4

In the back of the dress, I inserted the elastic into the chamber creating 8 inches of gathering.

The sides of the dress, remain smooth and ungathered.  I also opted for the on seam pockets, I just love to have a place to hang my hands!stapledress3

Here’s a picture of the front of the dress, while I am wearing it.  I am mostly happy with the result and when I sew the other dresses, I will use this same method.

One thing, I am not happy about:

stapledress5

When I added the bias tape to the neckline, I think I stretched the fabric a little and because of this, the collar tends to flare out.  You sew and learn, right?  The next time, I won’t do that!!!

Now, on to April’s Date Night Dress. This pattern boasts, 2 dress patterns in 1.  Yay!

So, go sew something already!  🙂

Have a great weekend!

Oh and by the way.. This is my 100th Post!  Yay!

2 thoughts on “An Integral Part-The Staple Dress

    • Hi there! Sorry for the delay in replying! Thanks I am glad that you like my take on the elastic, It has worked out great for me- so far I have done 2 that way. I really enjoy your blog! You have been quite busy with all your sewing! Keep it up… Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

