Words and Sounds…

Do you ever stop to think about what a word means to you?  Or what a specific sound can do to your entire being… like “nails on a chalkboard”?  Ugh, just the thought of nails on a chalkboard sends most of us into a hysterical whirling dervish!

Since I jumped on the bandwagon with most of you out there and started “blogging” I have really thought a lot about words.  Words in general and not just what the definition that “Webster’s” dictionary has given them, but what they mean to me, or Tracey’s Definition.

I have LOVED words and I have most HATED words.  Words that make my skin crawl.  Hmmm, should I share them with you?  Oh, what the heck, I will.  I would love to hear some of your words also.

Loved:

Shenanigans, Trousers, Underpinnings, Skivvies, Gams, Pocketbook, Davenport (my grandma would use this word all the time for a sofa), Supper (instead of dinner, so retro).

Hated:

Words to describe the female breast that starts with a T and is 3 letters (I am not even going to put it in print, that’s how much I hate it), Panties…….I have always hated this word, well as far back as I can remember anyway.  I have others, I can’t think of them now, but why dwell on the negative, right?

Please watch this clip , (wait for the whole page to load) and you will see that I was delighted to hear that someone else shared my disdain for this word.  Yes!  James Lipton interviewing The Cast of Modern Family.  Jesse Tyler Ferguson’s response for most hated word was PANTIES!  He also stated that the word MOIST made his list, and I have to agree.  That is a hideous word.

Similar to Julie Bowen from Modern Family, I do say “Dag-nabit”, “Dog-goneit”or “Cheese and Crackers” for a swear word.  Occasionally, more than I would like to admit, I use the F word, especially if I stub my toe!!!!
For some reason, the sound of a bag being crumpled gives me the heebie jeebies.  I am not sure why.  Weird, huh?  Both of our pugs, do this licking thing (Ruby is allergic to grass and it makes her itchy)… That sound makes the whole house go bonkers!!!!!
What about you out there?  What words or sounds make you happy or sad?
Enquiring minds would like to know?!

4 thoughts on “Words and Sounds…

  1. I love words, sounds a bit obvious, but they are so meaningful! I like words that sound like the noise…(I know there is a big fancy word for it, but it escapes me right now) … Words like whoosh, squeak, splat etc…. But the Brit in me likes the work b****cks! It’s a brilliant word, it’s not very rude at all here, and can be used in so many contexts. ‘ a load of …’ (Waste of time’ Talking …’ (One who likes to fabricate stories) ‘ feeling totally …exed’ (tired) or just on its own when you have forgotten to do something, broken something etc. The possibilities are endless! 🙂 can’t wait to see you in Sept xxx

    • Hi Leigh!! I love the way you Brits talk! You can say that brilliant word around me anytime! What does a “bit of Pork” mean? It’s bad, no? Can’t wait to see you in Sept… are you up for rooming together?xxoo

  2. I love this. My grandma used davenport too! And the bathroom was the lavatory. One thing I love about reading all the sewing blogs is all the British and Australian blogs. Love the new phrases and syntax of the sentences. I also have hated words (mostly business-y buzzwords) and favorites but I can’t limit the list as I sit here thinking…

    • I do love the way the Brits say that something is in the “post”, it’s the only one I can think of at the moment- but you are so right! The Aussie’s and Brits have a way with words, they can make the grossest thing sound “brilliant”! When I sat down to make a list, I couldn’t think of all the words, more come to me later!!!! Thanks for reading gal!!

Leave a Reply

