A Road Trip, A Workshop and My Friend Patty

I had another opportunity to attend a “Heather Ross Workshop” a couple of weekends ago.  The workshop was to take place near Monterey at Asilomar, which is pretty close to my neck of the woods (about 130 miles South) so how could I pass It up?

Well, I quickly spread the awesome news to my dear friend Patty since It was also the perfect excuse for a girls weekend, right?  I knew Patty could use a little weekend away, being a mom of 3 girls and studying to be a Nurse were just two of the many reasons she could use the respite.  Let’s face it, all of us could use a girls weekend- whether we are having a rough time or not, don’t you think?

I was thrilled when Patty accepted my invitation!  Even though she isn’t a crafter, she would use the time that I was in the workshop to study.  I can’t even tell you the last time I had enough time with Patty to really talk about everything.  She has been through some real life changes recently and I loved hearing how eloquently she is handling everything.  She is not much older than me, but two of her girls are in college, and she has so much acquired knowledge to share with me regarding those high school and middle school years.  Believe me, Jim and I could use any help we can get.  Basically she reminded me, to NOT SWEAT THE SMALL STUFF!  Being reminded of this is something I really needed to hear!

Pattyandme

Here is Patty and me.  She is cute isn’t she?  Such a great picture of Patty!  She and her girls are so photogenic, me…not so much!!!!

The Heather Ross Workshop was for sewing, which I didn’t do too much of.  I was sooooo distracted!  I am not sure why- maybe it was the new pretty color of Gretchen’s hair?

gretchen pinkhair

I love that Gretchen is able to express herself, and not worry about what others may think.  I told her that some of her fans are now going to start dyeing their hair pink, because she is a trend setter!  She told me that she hopes so, because maybe then, people will “stop staring”!!!!!

My plan for the weekend workshop was to sew the “Portrait Blouse” from Gretchen’s book.

My Book

What I ended up making was the “Keyhole Blouse” but I used the pattern for the “Portrait Blouse” instead and by accident.  Are you confused?  I know!  Me too!

asilomar6

You see, I should have used a different pattern from Gretchen’s book, the Bow-Tied Blouse.  Then, I would do a variation of that blouse called the Keyhole blouse, instead I did some kind of variation on the portrait blouse, which was a mistake.  Here is what I ended up with.  It’s still not done, It needs a zipper and a hem.  Asilomar7

It has shirring at the shoulders and is made from a yummy Liberty of London fabric, which while pinning the pattern to it, I  stuck myself and bled all over .  Ugh- I just cut around all the little blood spots.  Of all fabrics, why did it have to be a LIberty of London fabric?!!!!!

Gretchen, came up to me while I was in the process of cutting and noticed that I had in fact been using the wrong pattern.  She was so optimistic, telling me she would love to see the blouse when it was done, because she hadn’t seen this version/variation as of yet.  Well, not so much a version as it was a mistake, is all I could think!!!

For lunch on Saturday, Patty and I dined outside next to a fire at the Hogs Breath Inn in Carmel.  This restaurant was once owned by the actor Clint Eastwood.

Heatherrossbonfire4

Anyway, back to the workshop.  Heather Ross, is just like a girlfriend.  No airs about her, you settle right in and “hang” with her.  She had a lovely bonfire planned for us Saturday evening.  We were gonna make some S’mores!!!

Heatherrossbonfire

Mmmmmm S’Mores for dessert!

Heatherrossbonfire2

Here are some random pictures of the “workshoppers”.  We worked away in a magnificent room called the Kiln Room.

asilomar9

It had a grand fireplace, don’t you think?!

asilomar10 asilomar8

And that is all for now!  I hope you are all having a nice week!

9 thoughts on “A Road Trip, A Workshop and My Friend Patty

  1. Oh what a fun weekend. Glad to you posting and having fun. That blouse looks lovely and will be nice with a skirt when it’s done. 🙂 g

  2. What a heavenly weekend. And what a fantastic blouse. And isn’t it great to have such wonderful buddies. I have a couple of those. We don’t get to see as much of each other as we’d like but they are indeed therapy and a great reminder that the small stuff can ‘do one’! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Scattered! | Swell Sewing

Leave a Reply

