All dressed up and no where to go?

Over the holidays, I quickly sewed up a dress to wear to….. somewhere.  I didn’t end up wearing it to my planned “event” (or at all) because I felt that it was a little TOO dressy.

My pattern of choice for a lovely remnant of 3 yards of fabric (found at Britex) was Burdastyle 7132.

There were plenty of options to choose from, I really loved the dress without the peplum.  It had a very interesting pleating feature on the front of the skirt section.

Burdastyle7132

Isn’t the fabric a fun print?  A modern take on the plain navy blue/black that I usually go for.  The pleats look a little funny in this picture, but trust me, they turned out great.

I really loved my choice of fabric and also loved this pattern, but I think that maybe to unite them into the same frock was possibly a mistake.

2Burdastyle7132

You see, the fabric has a little bit of a stretch in it.  So even though it looks as if it “fits”, I couldn’t  really get it to be tight enough or lay correctly.  Hindsight, tells me that I should have chosen more of a dirndl skirt or a circle skirt, with an addition of horsehair braid in the hem it would have had a fun 50’s vibe.

Can you spot anything “interesting” in the above picture?

Here look again.

4Burdastyle7132 with deer

Yep, that’s a deer over my right shoulder.  This was a female deer that found her way into our backyard.  We get deer all the time, but this one was different. she had a broken leg and she also had a fawn with her.  The fawn was able to come and go from our yard, the mama deer wasn’t.

3Burdastyle7132

As sad as this was, she was eating and drinking just great in our yard.  She ate all my lilac bushes (dog gone it), but that’s okay, I was willing to sacrifice them if it was going to keep her and her baby alive.

Several calls were made to the Marin Humane Society and The Wildcare Center.  Their advice was to just let them be, if she was able to walk (and she was) and move around then they (humane society and wildcare center) couldn’t do anything.  Which we were very happy about, because the alternative was euthanasia!  😦

After about 4 days, she and her fawn were gone.  So, I guess she was able to hobble on three legs, and hop the fence.  So amazing! Where there is a will there is a way, right?

I am still working on my crazy “dog tails quilt”– it’s a lot of string piecing!!!!

So long for now!

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “All dressed up and no where to go?

  1. Tracey I love this dress! I think it’s subtle enough (dark color) so that you could wear it lots of places, but it has those interesting details that make it special. I could see wearing it to work with tights and boots, and if you do wear it to a party you’d be the best-dressed one there!

  2. great dress! i agree that it’s a perfect ‘anytime’ dress – you can dress it up or dress it down and it will work well either way.
    i’m so glad the deer is ok. i’ll send her some good vibes! how nice of you to sacrifice your lilacs and do what you could to help her out 🙂

  3. Super cute… love those pleats! Have you tried gold belt and accessories with that color? Not that I know anything about this stuff but a friend of mine made me go bold (read: gold) with a party dress that was a solid color and wow did it look awesome. Hope all is well Tracey!! Oh and PUH Leeze about weight loss girl. You look fabulous.. go for that rather than perfect (pound wize)! Just saying… 😉

    • Fi!!!!! I miss you Fi!!!! Thanks for the advice, I bet a gold belt would look great! Thanks about the advice on the weight issues. I am looking forward to the next time our paths cross!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

