Quick and Easy

I started a project about 2 days into my Cape Cod vacation, but got distracted by life and other things.  I purchased this silky green Ikat-ish fabric from the Etsy shop, Shop at Moxie.  It is described as being a vintage fabric from the 50’s, a cotton sateen.  I saw it on Etsy and I just had to have it!!!

Yesterday I decided to finish what I had started.  Jim, the boys and I had a cook-out to go to and I needed “something” to wear.  I continued and finished sewing a skirt from the New Look Pattern 6872.

It is a simple gathered skirt, but with the fabric I chose, I didn’t need something complicated!  This lovely green textile spoke for itself.  The pattern for the skirt consists of 2 waistband pieces and 1 skirt piece cut 2 times for the front and back piece.  Easy Peasey!!

Here is the finished product.

I think it would have been better with some seam pockets.  Well, live and learn, right?!  I always like to have a place to hang my hands.  🙂

I think I will be purchasing a crinoline from the Etsy shop Swank Underpinnings.  This shop owner creates some beautiful slips that would add lots of body to my skirt, thus making my waist seem small!   An illusion, so to speak!

Anyway, I have some really fun sewing projects planned for the next few days.  I will be sewing up a pair of Jennifer Paganelli Tommy Boxer Shorts.  I downloaded the pattern from her Sis Boom Website.  I am swooning over all her beautiful fabrics.  So much so, that I can’t decide which fabrics to order!!!!  You should go on over to Sis Boom and check it out.  I am also working on my first Give-Away.  I would love for you all to participate, and try to win a little something from me.  My way of thanking you!  Stay tuned for more details to come!

As always, have a great day and thanks for visiting!

12 thoughts on “Quick and Easy

  1. Wow! what a lovely skirt. Don’t you love it when you can ‘whip something up’ and wear it the same day? Enjoy. g

  2. Another awesome creation, Tracey!! That green is amazing on you. Nice and flowy, just nice everything! Thanks for the Swank Underpinnings link. I have a few retro patterns I’m dying to make soon that could use a crinoline.

    • Thank you Shelley! I am glad you like the Swank Underpinnings… I haven’t purchased anything there yet- but I have had great luck will all my other Etsy purchases! I do love green!

  3. I love your blog and you’ve been such an inspiration to me. Thanks for your comments and support on my blog. To show my appreciation I have nominated you for the one lovely blog award.. 🙂 From Peppermia

    • Wow! Thanks you are a doll! I feel as though you have inspired me with all your lovely pieces! You are quite the artist, and I love seeing what you come up with next! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

