Packing It In….Literally

When Sunday rolls around, our family will be headed for Cape Cod Mass, for 2 fun-filled months of beaching, biking, barbecuing…..”Todays post brought to you by the letter B”!!!!

 I just love the East coast, when compared to the West, here in California anyway, it is much simpler and easier, in a way.  You go to the beach covered in sunblock and read a book, while the kids swim and dig holes, many holes.  The people in the East are so Patriotic and friendly, they celebrate Independence Day as though it’s Christmas with all the houses decked out in Red, White and Blue, It is quite the event.

With my mom, safely home in Michigan from her vacay here in California I can now concentrate on packing for Cape Cod.  I am bringing many sewing projects to get me through the summer.  I have to say that I am pretty excited to narrow down those many  projects to a few.  Sometimes I have so many projects that I would like to accomplish that it becomes overwhelming and unattainable.  I also have a sewing workshop planned for late June that takes place in Vermont!  A place I have never been. This is a Heather Ross Workshop which should be a ton of fun!

Packing for Cape Cod is one thing, but I have also been trying to pack in a few sewing projects before heading East.  I have sewn another pair of Clovers, Iris Shorts and a Sencha.  All from Colette Patterns.  Here are a few photos.

This is my Sencha that I sewed with Liberty Of London Fabric.  I embellished this particular blouse with a piping that I made all myself!

Here are some close-up shots of my handy work.  And……

this is the blister that I acquired from turning my bias tape inside out onto the piping!  Ouch!

Clovers and Iris to follow…

Both in the same mellow yellow fabric.

One more thing before I go, I was pretty excited about this!

The lovely Caitlin from Coletterie and Colette Patterns contacted me and asked if I would like to be a featured seamstress of the week!  Jumping for joy, I gave her a very enthusiastic YES!

Here is the link to my feature.  I was just tickled pink with this opportunity that took place at the end of May.  For me, this was such an honor and I thank both Sarai and Caitlin for doing this for me.  Thank you!  I was also able to finish the MMM 2012 with much success! (Did I mention this in an earlier blog?  Sorry if I did).
 Very fun.  Thanks to everyone for all your encouragement!
This has been a very jam packed month!!!
Next time you hear from me I will be on Eastern Standard Time and loving it!!!
Cheers!

10 thoughts on “Packing It In….Literally

  1. Wow! Packing, piping and premiering on a blog! What fun! A whole two months on the coast…and sewing projects..bliss! That piping on your Sencha is inspired and hard won! (ouch). And your premier guest appearence on the Colletterie….no wonder they asked you….you make their patterns look great!

    • Yes! I do love Liberty of London! I just wish that I would have
      Had the forethought to purchase some of that Rose Carline when I had the chance! Thanks for your nice comments!

      • gasp! the rose carline is so beautiful!
        ps – i meant to say congratulations on your feature in the coletterie! i’m happy about it, too, because that is what lead me to your lovely blog 🙂

      • Oh great! I am glad that Coletterie brought you to my blog! Welcome to my crazy life! I love Coletterie and it was so awesome to be contacted! I am gonna stop by your blog and see what you have been up to!

    • Yup!!! 2 months, we are so spoiled! Love it there- we will probably move there when the kids are much older!
      Thanks for saying such nice things about my sencha and clovers!
      Great day to you!

Leave a Reply

