Left, Right, Middle and Hope For The Best!

Do you have a beef?  I  do.  Well, maybe beef is a little too harsh for this pet peeve that I have.  I don’t mean to pick on pattern companies, there probably aren’t many other options out there for creating  multi-sized patterns.

I went looking through my patterns to find a good example of what I am going to write about but wouldn’t you know it? I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted.  So let’s just start with this picture, shall we?

 

We have all seen these overlapping lines when we are working with a pattern, and like I said, this is not the extreme of what I wanted to show you.  Sometimes you get a pattern that can have many sizes all merging onto one pattern piece.  There are patterns out there that can have a size 0 to a size 20, where do all those lines end up?  They merge together into one very thick line and THIS is where I say “left, right or center”.  You make the choice.  I find this to be comical when there is an extremely thick line.  It’s just funny and I guess it makes me wonder what the pattern creator was thinking the pattern user was going to do with this thick black line?

I always approach this as if I am at a party and I might have had a little too much tequila (not that this has ever happened). If you are seeing double or triple, you always choose the one in the center, right?  So that’s what I do, that and make a muslin, when I can!

Anyway let’s get on with the MMM 2012.  Here are Days 11, 12, 13 and today, Day 14.

Day 11

A “me-made” reversible belt.

Day 12 and 13.

A yellow “me-made” polka dot ponytail holder and for Day 13, Mother’s Day, another Sorbetto.  I just can’t help it, I love the Sorbetto so!  I used up all my gingham bias tape and then some creating this one.

And today, Day 14.

We are heading into San Francisco to a Giants game.  So I pulled out the polka dot orange headband to honor the Giants’ colors.  This is an evening game and it is sure to be very cold!  I will probably  be wearing a knit cap over this headband!

Happy Sewing!

2 thoughts on “Left, Right, Middle and Hope For The Best!

  1. Beautiful, beautiful! I love that gingham bias tape, and the rest. The pattern cutting line dilemma made me think of those Burda patterns you get in the center of the magazine, hundreds of lines all converging on each other like total madness…I invariably make a big mistake…

    • Yes! All those lines merging, it looks like a piece of modern artwork doesn’t it? I have yet to try one of those burdastyle magazine patterns- it is very intimidating. Isn’t gingham just a happy fabric?!

Leave a Reply

