Nice to Meet You Sencha!

I am just bursting with joy after I finished my latest project!  I finally tackled the Sencha Blouse from Colette Patterns.  It really wasn’t a “tackle” it was more of a “roll”.  A roll because, it was easy, breezy and I just rolled with it.  I am thrilled with the results and for the very first time I used my intimidating  buttonhole foot attachment.  This is the one that plugs into the machine and communicates with the machine.  I don’t really understand how it works, so that in part is why it makes me a little nervous.  I feel the same way about airplanes.

And just so you know Sencha is not only a blouse pattern it is also a Japanese green tea.  I had to look it up.

I whipped up a yo-yo out of the same fabric and made a pin/barrette.

Here is the posterior photo.

Oh and I used buttons that I had in my stash.  The pattern calls for 3/4 inch buttons, I had 1/2 inch buttons so I did 7 buttonholes instead of 6.  Unfortunately I only had 6 buttons, so I am going to try to get another one.  If I can’t I will make the top button a “feature” button. There’s always something, huh?

I also finished my second pair of Iris shorts.  These are made of a cotton seersucker/gauze fabric.  They don’t hang as well as my navy blue wool Iris Shorts, but they will do.

At first glance they don’t look too bad, but take a second glance and something is just a little off.

Had I lined up the stripes, these shorts would have been nearly perfect!  Oh well, live and learn!

One more photo.

I even did buttonholes and buttons on this one with a little trim.  (These buttonholes were done with my old buttonhole foot).  Pretty snazzy!

One more thing that I want you to know……

Are you participating?

This came to me through the lovely Lavender from Threadsquare.  It originated from Zoe from “So Zo…What Do You Know?”.  Cute name for a blog!  Anyway, hop on over to her blog and sign up to partake if you would like.  Here’s my pledge.

‘I, (Tracey from Swellsewing.com), sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’12. I endeavour to wear something made by me each day for the duration of May 2012’.

Today I am wearing a headband that I made.

Not terribly exciting, but it is the first day!

Happy May Day!

8 thoughts on “Nice to Meet You Sencha!

  1. What a gorgeous coloured Sencha – green tea-ish? (perhaps when the tea was still growing?)
    Isn’t it great when you try out a seemingly-intimidating contraption and it turns out to be a fantastic new tool! That’s how I felt about the walking foot that came with my machine. It’s such a headache saver! The shorts are great too…the mismatch is a ‘design element’…and I doubt anyone but you will notice it 😉

    Very impressed with you and everyone else who’s joined in Me-Made-May…!

    • Thank you! I might be assembling a dress out of toilet paper to make up some of my me-made days, but by golly I am gonna do it!! I will just have to stay out of the rain!!! I haven’t tried the walking foot yet- it does sound intimidating!

Leave a Reply

