Sewing My Seasonal Mini Wardrobe

I put together a mood board for the Colette Spring/Summer Palette Challenge.  So far I have 2 items done.  A Colette Sorbetto top and the new Colette Iris Shorts.

Here are a few photos.

I changed the back of the Sorbetto making it a larger scoop of a neckline.  Not really intentional.  I was running very low on the DS Quilts Aunt Edna fabric.  I cut the front out first and then realized that I didn’t have enough for the back.  So I changed the front- cutting it into 2 pieces adding the middle pleat separately.  I just didn’t have enough fabric to make both front and back so I had to do it piece meal.  I really like the print and I couldn’t find any more, so this is how I solved this calamity.   Another MacGyver move!

The Iris shorts are made out of some wool crepe I had in my stash.  In hindsight wooI crepe may not have been the wisest choice.  I love the drape, but I am not too happy about ironing it.   It was a challenge to press my seams open.  I really like the shorts and I will sew more shorts from this pattern.  The blue wool crepe is so dark it’s really hard to see all the fun details.  Maybe next time I will sew it with piping to accentuate all the details.

Last picture of the outfit without me in it.  I think you can see it a little better this way.

Anyway, I am running low on energy today.  So that is all for now.  Great day to everyone!

10 thoughts on “Sewing My Seasonal Mini Wardrobe

  1. Pingback: Nice to Meet You Sencha! | Swell Sewing

  2. Pingback: Featured Seamstress: Tracey | Coletterie

Leave a Reply

