Operation Comfort Doll….

Sew Grateful Week

Sew, sew, sew, sometimes I feel like I don’t have any direction!  But this week I am making
an extra effort to give back.  After visiting Sunni‘s A Fashionable Stitch I discovered  “Sew Grateful Week” that the lovely Debi from My Happy Sewing Place has developed.  The concept goes like this:

This is the week to show your thankfulness for our wonderful sewing community and people in your life that support your love of sewing!  The idea is to use fabric, pattern, book or other item that was given to you in a giveaway or as a present from a family member or friend and to showcase that project on your blog during the Sew Grateful Week.  Haven’t received any material sewing items lately?  That doesn’t matter –we can be sew grateful for the time people put into organising sew-alongs, tutorials, etc.  Why not jump in and participate in that sew-along you missed or make something from that tutorial you’ve been thinking about?  Even if you don’t get around to finishing a project, maybe spend some time blogging about what you’re grateful for in relation to your hobby and the sewing community?

Well I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted to do, I didn’t actually have anything in mind that fit the criteria for Sew Grateful Week.  But, then it hit me.  I recieved a “Sew News” Mag in the mail about 2 weeks ago and while I was browsing through it I read a moving article called Operation Comfort Doll.  This project encourages crafters, like us to give back by using our skills to sew these dolls.  They will bring comfort to women who stay in domestic abuse shelters.   These women are given a doll to inform them that they Indeed are not alone as they start to rebuild their new lives.  Since 2007 Ms. Brenda Hutchings has ran this charity and has distributed over 1000 dolls to shelters nationwide!  Each doll comes with a special note that states:

I am a comfort doll.  I was made especially for you by a woman’s heart and hand who cares.  When you need strength or just a smile, hold me and feel the love I send.  Like me, you are unique, worthy, beautiful, and deserve all good things in life.  You have the strength within yourself to be extraordinary.  Find the strength and shine!  Comfort Dolls- made with our hands- given with our hearts.

These 6 dolls, made by yours truly,  are being sent off to Indiana to help those who may need them- I am  SEW GRATEFUL  that I am fortunate enough to have a loving husband!!!   Hop on over to My Happy Sewing Place and grab a button and join us.

What are you Sew Grateful for?

9 thoughts on “Operation Comfort Doll….

  1. Tracy–this is BRILLIANT! Thank you so much for posting this and I’ll be sure to highlight this in my Projects round-up post on Friday! Such a beautiful and wonderful gift!

  2. Pingback: Weekend Wind-Up | Swell Sewing

Leave a Reply

