Patience and Progress…..

I often find myself to be a person that wants instant results.  All that “Patience is a virtue” crap is something our mothers said to us and it is something that we continue to tell our kids.  When I start a sewing project, I want it done NOW and this would mean skipping the muslin sewing!  definitely not a possibility, because the sewing police will bust into my house and demand to see my muslin for my ill-fitting garment (Muslins help you avoid ill-fitting garments)- which I wouldn’t be able to produce and this would lead to the seamSTRESS pokey and… well you get the picture!  My latest project that I am working on is a quilt.  It is not just any quilt, it is a cathedral quilt.  And it happens to be my first quilt, real quilt that is.  I chose this style, because it reminds me of the quilts I grew up with, handed down from my great-grandmother that my sister now has possession of.  
The colored fabric for the quilt was purchased off of Etsy from a shop called Swell Goods.  Fitting don’t you think?  Each vintage fat quarter came neatly pressed, folded, bundled and at one time was a bed sheet.  I just love it when you order something off of Etsy and when it arrives it’s packaged in a very special way!
Well, this is a sewing project that is going to take a lot of patience, which I intend to be pushing to the limit and at this point with nearly a week behind me I have enough done to use for a table runner.  My intent is to have enough rows done by June to blanket an actual human.  
 So as I continue to sew this massive undertaking, I will pick up other projects along the way to alleviate the boredom associated with sewing square, after square, after….. You get it…
Stay tuned for further developments!

One thought on “Patience and Progress…..

Leave a Reply

